Derby Festival Basketball Classic Results


LOUISVILLE, KY (WAVE) - A crowd of 10,019 was on hand Friday at the KFC Yum! Center as the Gold Team defeated the White Team 126-122 in the 39th annual Derby Festival Basketball Classic presented by Indiana recruit Cody Zeller scored 16 points and grabbed nine rebounds and was named Gold Team MVP. Louisville signee Angel Nunez scored 16 points and grabbed five rebounds and was named MVP of the White Team. Louisville recruit Chane Behanan was named the "Fan Favorite" in text-message voting by spectators in attendance at the game.  

The game featured five McDonald's All-Americans, three University of Louisville recruits, two Western Kentucky University recruits and two Indiana University signees. At halftime, it was announced that the team of Cody Zeller and Aaron Cosby won Thursday night's 2-on-2 finals at Bellarmine University's Knights Hall during the Derby Festival Night of the Future Stars.

Said Derby Festival President and CEO Mike Berry: "The KFC Yum! Center was a terrific venue to showcase some of the best players in the country.  We had a great crowd for a high-scoring, exciting game that came right down to the wire."

The Finals for these competitions were held at halftime:

Aaron Cosby: 14 pts. (Attending: Seton Hall)

Levi Randolph: 76 pts. (Attending: Alabama)

Event sponsor joins contributing sponsors 99.7 WDJX and Reebok in presenting the 39th annual Derby Festival Basketball Classic. The game's supporting sponsor is The Rock; the media partner is SLAM Magazine. First held in 1973, the Derby Festival Basketball Classic is the second-oldest continuously held high school all-star game in the nation. Players such as Jamal Mashburn, Moses Malone, Rex Chapman, Pervis Ellison, Isiah Thomas, Dominique Wilkins, Darrell Griffith, Derek Anderson, Anfernee Hardaway and Michael Beasley have starred in the Classic.