Applications being accepted now for nearly 300 jobs - wave3.com-Louisville News, Weather & Sports

Applications being accepted now for nearly 300 jobs

Posted: Updated:

LOUISVILLE, KY (WAVE) - To many, it may be a day of fun and entertainment. For others, it's a job creator and a source of income; and in less than two weeks, it will be under way.

The Kentucky State Fair officially starts on Thursday, August 18. But before the fair can begin, workers are needed to do various jobs all around the fair grounds; from ticket takers, housekeeping, and maintenance staff.

Officials estimate around 275 people are needed for those various jobs. A job fair started Monday, August 8 for those open positions and will be accepted on the very last day of the fair - Sunday, August 28.

Some workers will be hired on that last date, officials say, because the massive clean-up will take a few days for crews to transform things back to normal for other events at the fairgrounds.

Everyone who came out to Monday's job fair had their own reason for applying for the temporary jobs.

"Everybody's kind of on edge, and trying to just pick up any extra cash that they can to make ends meet and so this is the result of it - anything that you hear of," said applicant Costella Priest.

"I'm retired so I've got an income but you know I just wanted to find something to do," said applicant Seabren Horton, Jr.

"I just wanted something to do and I thought this would be a good thing to do for a short amount of time," said applicant Linda Blevins.

When asked, "has the economy impacted you as well," Blevins said, "Yeah, I think it's impacted everybody. Everything's higher and it costs more to live nowadays."

Starting pay is $7.25 an hour for these temporary jobs. You need to bring a government issued photo ID and your social security card or birth certificate.

To apply for employment, visit South Wing C at the Kentucky Exposition Center on August 8-12 and the Employment Trailer, Gate 4 off Crittenden Drive on August 13-28.

Monday, August 8 - 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. (South Wing C)
Tuesday, August 9 - 10 a.m. – 6 p.m. (South Wing C)
Wednesday, August 10 – Friday, August 12 - 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. (South Wing C)
Saturday, August 13 – Monday, August 15 - 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Gate 4)
Tuesday, August 16 - 6 a.m. - 6 p.m. (Gate 4)
Wednesday, August 17 – Thursday, August 18 - 6 a.m. – midnight (Gate 4)
Friday, August 19 - 6 a.m. - 8 p.m. (Gate 4)
Saturday, August 20 - 6 a.m. – midnight (Gate 4)
Sunday, August 21 – Friday, August 26 - 6 a.m. - 8 p.m. (Gate 4)
Saturday, August 27 - 6 a.m. – midnight (Gate 4)
Sunday, August 28 - 6 a.m. - 2 p.m. (Gate 4) 

You may also call (502) 367-5230 with any questions.

Copyright 2011 WAVE News. All rights reserved.