Assistance authorized for five additional counties - News, Weather & Sports

Assistance authorized for five additional counties

FRANKFORT, KY (WAVE)  - President Barack Obama has authorized assistance for five additional counties hit by storms in Kentucky.

Grayson, LaRue, Ohio, Russell and Trimble counties all suffered significant damage from the tornadoes that hit March 2 and have been added to the list to receive assistance. The President's actions has now brought the total number of counties to receive federal funding to 21.

"As we expected, FEMA has authorized funding quickly for these additional storm-ravaged counties," said Governor Beshear. "We have strong working relationships with both our local officials and our federal emergency responders, and I am grateful that our request has been granted to these additional counties."

Assistance for individuals can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can apply for assistance by clicking here or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.  The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. 


Copyright 2012 WAVE News. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly