North Hardin's Gray named Kentucky Track & Field Athlete of Year - News, Weather & Sports

North Hardin's Gray named Kentucky Track & Field Athlete of Year


Elizabethtown, KY – Kianna Gray, a North Hardin High School junior-to-be, has been named the Gatorade Girls Track and Field Athlete of the Year. 

Kianna is the Kentucky State Champion in the 100-meter hurdles (:14.83), 100-meter dash (:12.20) and 200-meter dash (:25.16).  She finished third in the state in the 400-meter dash (:56.19).  Gray was also named the 2013 Kentucky Track & Cross Country Coaches Association Ms. Track winner in her first year running track.

"Kianna has truly earned this award," NHHS track & field head coach James Webb said.  "She works hard every day in practice and does what she needs to do on the track.  She is fierce competitor.  Kianna is a very good student as well.  She has a wonderful work ethic.  I have no doubt she will do great things one day.  I'm very proud of her and her teammates." 

The North Hardin girls and boys track teams won the KHSAA Track & Field 3A State Championship last month.  The girls' team scored a total of 91 points. 

The Gatorade Company established an award honoring America's elite high school student-athletes in 1985. Now in its third decade, the Gatorade Player of the Year award has become one of the most prestigious accolades in high school sports.

Among Gatorade Player of the Year award alumni, fans will discover names like Robert Griffin III, Dwight Howard, Derek Jeter, Lisa Leslie, Peyton Manning, Joe Mauer, Alonzo Mourning, Emmitt Smith, Abby Wambach and Kerri Walsh. These champions represent only a handful of exceptional talents who were first recognized by the Gatorade Player of the Year program before shining at the highest levels of competition.

This award honors a student-athlete's athletic excellence, academic achievement and exemplary character on the field, in the classroom and in the community. 

Central Hardin High School pitcher and first baseman Drew Harrington was named the Gatorade Kentucky Baseball Player of the Year last month.

Official release from Hardin County Schools

Powered by Frankly