Governor's Cup moved to last game of season starting 2014

LOUISVILLE, KY (WAVE) – The Governor's Cup, the annual match up between UK and UofL's football teams, will be held as the last game of the season starting in 2014.

The Atlantic Coast Conference and Southeastern Conference, along with the athletic directors from both schools, agreed to change the game on both team's schedules. Since 2007, it was played as the third game of the year when UK hosted it and as the first of the year when played at Cardinal Stadium.

"I have been a huge proponent that the game should be played as the first game every year," said UofL Vice-President and Director of Athletics Tom Jurich. "I'm disappointed that it will not be our opening game in the future, but most importantly, we will continue to play the game. We'll support the move at the request of both conferences and we are very excited about our future in the ACC. I'm sure that fans across the Commonwealth will be pleased to see the series continue."

The late-season shift will increase the number of ACC vs. SEC intrastate rivalry match ups to four on the season's final weekend; joining Florida State-Florida, Georgia Tech-Georgia and Clemson-South Carolina, which are also played on the closing weekend.

ACC Commissioner John Swofford said excitement surrounds the UK-UofL game. "The storied rivalry between Louisville and Kentucky is an important part of the tradition and history of both institutions and we appreciate being able to showcase that game on the final weekend of the season along with the other inter-conference rivalries between the ACC and SEC."

Kentucky holds a 14 to 11 advantage in the series, but the Cardinals have an 11 to 8 edge since the series renewal in 1994. Kentucky won the first six games played between 1912 and 1924 before a 70 year hiatus.

Louisville, ranked ninth nationally in both the Associated Press and USA Today polls, will travel to Lexington to face the Wildcats on September 14 this season in the third game of the year for both schools.

Next year's game will be held on November 29.

Copyright 2013 WAVE News. All rights reserved.