Thompson heads Journalism Hall of Fame inductees

LEXINGTON, Ky. (AP) - The late gonzo journalist and Louisville native Hunter S. Thompson is being inducted into the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame.

The organization said the 2014 inductees also include Scripps Howard Foundation president and CEO Mike Philipps, former Lexington Herald-Leader reporter Lee Mueller, University of Louisville spokesman Mark Hebert, Western Kentucky University's longtime Voice of the Hilltopppers Wes Strader, Editor Dave McBride of the Ohio County Times News and communications professor Elizabeth Hansen of Eastern Kentucky University.

Thompson, who committed suicide in 2005, was a correspondent for Rolling Stone Magazine and wrote more than a dozen books, including "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas."

The Courier-Journal reported Thompson applied for a job at the newspaper early in his career but was rejected. The induction will be April 29 in Lexington.

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)