21 horses enter 140th Kentucky Derby, post positions to be deter - wave3.com-Louisville News, Weather & Sports

21 horses enter 140th Kentucky Derby, post positions to be determined

LOUISVILLE, KY (WAVE) - The Kentucky Derby post positions of 21 horses known to have been entered in Saturday's $2 million Run for the Roses will be determined in a draw Wednesday afternoon.

According to the Churchill Downs communications team, these are the horses that will compete in the 140th Kentucky Derby, listed in order of preference by points earned on the Road to the Kentucky Derby:

  • California Chrome
  • Vicar's in Trouble
  • Dance With Fate
  • Wicked Strong
  • Samraat
  • Danza
  • Hoppertunity
  • Intense Holiday
  • Wildcat Red
  • We Miss Artie
  • Ride On Curlin
  • Chitu
  • Tapiture
  • General a Rod
  • Medal Count
  • Candy Boy
  • Uncle Sigh
  • Vinceremos
  • Harry's Holiday
  • Commanding Curve

Pablo Del Monte would be on the "also eligible" list.

Entries closed at 10 a.m. Friday.

The Kentucky Derby post position draw is a traditional "pill pull" in which horses' entry blanks are pulled simultaneously with a numbered pill to determine which stall a horse will use to break from the starting gate.

This year's draw will begin at 5:21 p.m. Wednesday in the Secretariat Lounge on the second floor of the Grandstand. John Asher, Vice President of Racing Communications for Churchill Downs will serve as emcee. Ben Huffman, Director of Racing and Racing Secretary, and Dan Bork, Assistant Racing Secretary and Stakes Coordinator, will conduct the pill pull.

The first 10 post positions will be drawn from 5:22 to 5:30 p.m. The final 10 post positions will be drawn from 5:33 p.m. until 5:40 p.m. The Kentucky Derby's morning line odds will be delivered by Churchill Downs oddsmaker Mike Battaglia at 5:49 p.m.

WAVE 3 News will provide complete live coverage of the Kentucky Derby post position draw and the Kentucky Derby Festival's Great Steamboat Race beginning on WAVE 3 News at 5, on WAVE3.com, and on the free WAVE 3 News and WAVE 3 Weather apps.

The 140th Kentucky Derby will air exclusively on NBC and WAVE 3 News on Saturday. WAVE 3 News will provide live coverage from Churchill Downs beginning at 5 a.m. WAVE3.com will live stream NBC Sports' coverage of the race beginning at 4 p.m. on Saturday.

Copyright 2013 WAVE 3 News. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly