Two former Cards receive elite NFL awards

Two former Cards receive elite NFL awards

Before the second round of the NFL draft begins, team winners of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award will walk the red carpet. They also will announce some third-round selections.

Two winners of the national Payton honor, Carolina Panthers linebacker Thomas Davis (2014) and former Kansas City Chiefs guard Will Shields (2003), will take part in the festivities.

The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award recognizes a player for his excellence on and off the field and his commitment to philanthropy and community impact.

Team winners, representing past and present players, are:

Arizona Cardinals:Jay Feely

Atlanta Falcons:Patrick DiMarco

Baltimore Ravens:Mike McCrary

Buffalo Bills:Eric Wood

Carolina Panthers:Thomas Davis

Chicago Bears:Israel Idonije

Cincinnati Bengals:Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns:Gary Barnidge

Dallas Cowboys:Brandon Carr

Denver Broncos:DeMarcus Ware

Detroit Lions:Mike Furrey

Green Bay Packers: Sam Barrington

Houston Texans:Chester Pitts

Indianapolis Colts:Reggie Wayne

Jacksonville Jaguars:Maurice Jones-Drew

Kansas City Chiefs:Will Shields

Los Angeles Rams:Johnny Hekker

Miami Dolphins:Ronnie Brown

Minnesota Vikings: E.J. Henderson

New England Patriots:Kevin Faulk

New Orleans Saints: Scott Fujita

New York Giants:Steve Weatherford

New York Jets: Kevin Mawae

Oakland Raiders:Willie Brown

Philadelphia Eagles:Bennie Logan

Pittsburgh Steelers: Cameron Heyward

San Diego Chargers: Quentin Jammer

San Francisco 49ers:Takeo Spikes

Seattle Seahawks:Shaun Alexander

Tampa Bay Buccaneers:Rondè Barber

Tennessee Titans:Delanie Walker

Washington Redskins:Ryan Kerrigan

(Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.)