Heisman Trophy football up for auction to benefit Leukemia and Lymphoma Society

Heisman Trophy football up for auction to benefit Leukemia and Lymphoma Society

Football Signed by 19 Heisman Trophy Winners to be Auctioned for Charity

Proceeds go to Leukemia & Lymphoma Society of Kentucky & So. Indiana.

(Louisville, KY) –Football enthusiasts can own a piece of nostalgic memorabilia by bidding on a football donated to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society by 1958 Heisman Winner Pete Dawkins.  The football is signed by the following Heisman winners covering 20 years of history:
1953 - Johnny Latner, Notre Dame 

                        1955 - Hop Cassady, The Ohio State University

1956 - Paul Hornung, Notre Dame

1957 - John David Crow, Texas A&M

1958 - Pete Dawkins, Army

1962- Terry Baker, Oregan State

1964 - John Huarte, Notre Dame

1967 - Gary Beban, UCLA

1972 - Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska

1974 & 1975 - Archie Griffin, The Ohio State University

1976 - Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh

1977 - Earl Campbell, Texas

1980 - George Rogers, South Carolina
1983 - Mike Rozier, Nebraska
1987 - Tim Brown, Notre Dame
1990 - Ty Detmer, Brigham Young
1993 - Gino Torretta, Miami
1996 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida
2012 - Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Those interested in bidding online can visit Charity Buzz at https://www.charitybuzz.com/catalog_items/heisman-football-signed-by-20-years-of-heisman-trophy-1073400 and view images of the football and a Certificate of Authenticity for the Heisman Trophy Trust.

Dawkins’ daughter-in-law, Winkie Dawkins, is participating in the LLS Man & Woman of the Year event  - an annual fundraising campaign where men and women vie for the title Man or Woman of the Year by raising the most money for cancer research in a 10-week time period. The football is one facet of the fundraiser.
The 2016 Man & Woman of the Year Campaign is underway, and nine local men and women have set out to raise $250,000 the fight against blood cancer. The top male and female fundraiser will be named Man & Woman of the Year at the Grand Finale, held at The Olmsted, on Thursday, June 2 at 6:00 - 10:00 p.m. Guests will enjoy cocktails, dinner, live music, dancing, silent and live auctions, and hear remarks from 14-year-old Reece King, an acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL) survivor. Reece is living proof that the money being raised by these candidates are funding life-saving treatments not someday, but today. 
The 2016 Man & Woman of the Year Candidates are:

·         Winkie Dawkins, Rodan + Fields

·         Brian Diehlman, Waddell & Reed

·         Dena Lloyd-Handy, Retired insurance agent/realtor

·         Pam Sanders, Independent Pilots Association

·         Tony Simms,  U of L School of Medicine

·         Christy Smallwood, Eagle Eye Enterprises

·         Amy Wagner, Reflections of You, by Amy

·         Terri Weber, Greater Louisville, Inc.

·         Chris Whigham, Derby City Social Media

Grand Finale Tickets are available for the event at a cost of $95 per ticket, $175 for two, or $725 for a table of eight. For more information on the event, to purchase tickets or donate to your favorite candidate, visit www.mwoy.org/ky

Official release from Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of Kentucky & Southern Indiana