Crowded field seeks to replace retiring Clark County sheriff

Published: May. 6, 2014 at 4:58 AM EDT|Updated: Jun. 20, 2014 at 4:37 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn
Dwight Ingle
Dwight Ingle
Brian Meyer
Brian Meyer
Donnie Bowyer
Donnie Bowyer

JEFFERSONVILLE, IN (WAVE) - Five candidates are competing to replace outgoing Clark County Sheriff Danny Rodden, and Tuesday's Democratic primary will narrow the field.

Democrats Brian Meyer, Donnie Bowyer and Dwight Ingle will run against each other in their party's primary.

Meyer is a lieutenant colonel with the Clark County Sheriff's Office and Bowyer is the chief of detectives, while Ingle is a former Clarksville Police Chief.

Tuesday's winner will continue to the general election and face Indiana State Police assistant commander Jamey Noel, who's unopposed in the Republican primary, and retired Department of Natural Resources conservation officer Mac Spainhour, an independent who won't be on the ballot until November.

Meyer said, if elected, his priorities would be finding budget savings, improving communication with other Clark County police agencies, and doing more to stop drug crimes.

"We've got a serious problem -- drugs are just overrunning our county and heroin is a major, major problem," Meyer said.

Bowyer said he would start by creating a more proactive department, in which deputies would do more community-based policing.

"I can't overstress the community and the police interacting," Bowyer said. "It's got to be there. If it's not, it won't work."

Ingle said he was out of town Monday evening and didn't return follow-up phone calls from WAVE 3 News seeking comment.

Noel said he wasn't taking any of the Democrats lightly, but said his 21 years in law enforcement make him a serious contender. The Republican said his priorities were finding budget savings and improving morale among deputies by implementing better training and providing newer equipment.

Spainhour couldn't be reached for comment Monday.

Polls are open for Indiana's primaries from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Copyright 2014 WAVE 3 News. All rights reserved.